Occupational therapy

What is occupational therapy?

 

Life is made up of meaningful daily activities or occupations, for example; going for a walk with your dog, gardening, preparing a meal, painting, doing laundry, and playing games. Occupations are part of life; they define us and they reflect our way of perceiving ourselves. Occupations give meaning to life. When we cannot participate in daily occupations due to injury, illness, disability, or social or environmental circumstances, occupational therapists can help us find solutions that will allow us to participate in meaningful everyday activities. The occupational therapist works in collaboration with other health professionals when it is deemed relevant.

Mental Health

Symptoms of mental disorders have a significant impact on daily activities, which for some can lead to temporary disability including being off work. The occupational therapist works with the individual on concrete strategies and supports them in resuming their activities so that they can find a balance between what they want, have to do and are required to do. Through individual sessions, the occupational therapist can provide education, teach and develop different management strategies such as relaxation, sleep hygiene, better management of energy and tasks, etc. The occupational therapist uses coaching strategies to support the client in identifying their values, interests and strengths as well as setting up realistic activities and goals to acquire those different strategies and resume activities.

Specific services

Accommodation in the workplace:

 A workplace intervention with the objective of reducing the risk of injury or recurrence and offering specific strategies to the employee to facilitate the return and / or stay at work. This is a service often used to teach safe postural / biomechanical techniques, provide cognitive strategies to an employee who returns to work after a long absence or to reduce risks of absence.

Return to Work Program:

An individualized and structured program with the objective of favoring the gradual reintegration of the client into his work environment, following an injury, health related condition or illness. Such a program may include outlining a gradual return to work schedule, recommends temporary modifications of tasks, education of healthy postures and manual handling techniques or recommend equipment all to meet the client's unique functional abilities due to their health condition with the goal of returning to work. The occupational therapist provides follow-up and supervision throughout the reintegration process.

Occupational therapy rehabilitation for the management of persistent pain and other chronic conditions (invisible condition):

Designed for the client who is unable to self-manage the persistent pain resulting from physical impairment and who have difficulty doing activities that give their life meaning. The occupational therapist supports the client in learning about their pain system and developing strategies to better manage their time and energy, improve sleep, reduce the impact of stress, fatigue and pain, set up new habits, improve your ability to organize yourself in your day and week as well as build connections to reduce isolation. Often times, integrating new self management strategies result in reducing the experience of pain.

Ergonomic analysis and adaptation of a workstation:

 

An assessment of an employee’s work environment to identify the risk factors related to work methods as well as to the various elements of at the job including tools, equipment, tasks, organization, technology and the environment. The occupational therapist can then suggest task modification strategies and recommend adaptations and specialized equipment as needed.

Assessment of functional autonomy and home safety:

The occupational therapist visits the home to assess the daily functioning of the individual. With the help of interviews, scenarios and observations, the occupational therapist analyzes the difficulties in performing daily activities (eg: safety in the performance of transfers, bathing, meal prep, etc) and related environmental barriers. This will then offer recommendations for technical aids, possible home renovation and / or strategy to improve functioning and safety when participating in significant activities.

©2018 BY MIND AT PEACE CENTRE / CENTRE MIEUX-ÊTRE

Telephone : 1 (506) 252-2976

Fax : 1 (506) 546-8594

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ergothérapie

Qu’est-ce que l’ergothérapie?

 

La vie est composée d’activités ou d’occupations quotidiennes significatives, comme faire une promenade avec son chien, faire du jardinage, préparer un repas, peindre, faire la lessive et s’adonner à des jeux. Les occupations font partie de la vie; elles nous définissent et elles sont le reflet de notre façon de nous percevoir. Les occupations donnent un sens à la vie. Lorsque nous ne pouvons pas participer à des occupations quotidiennes en raison d’une blessure, d’une maladie, d’un handicap ou de circonstances sociales ou environnementales, les ergothérapeutes peuvent nous aider à trouver les solutions qui nous permettront de participer à des activités quotidiennes porteuses de sens. L’ergothérapeute travail en collaboration avec les autres professionnels de la santé quand il est jugé pertinent. 

Santé Mentale

Les symptômes de troubles mentaux ont un impact important sur les activités de tous les jours, ce qui peut, pour certains, entraîner une invalidité temporaire incluant l’arrêt du travail. L’ergothérapeute travaille avec l’individue sur des stratégies concrète et l’accompagne dans la reprise de ses activités afin qu’ils puissent trouver un équilibre entre ce qu’ils veulent, doivent et sont tenus de faire. Par l’entremise des sessions individuels, l’ergothérapeute peut faire de l'enseignant sur l’impact de maladie et sur différentes stratégies de gestion comme la relaxation, l’hygiène du sommeil, meilleure gestion de l’énergie et des tâches, etc. L’ergothérapeute utilise des stratégies de coaching pour accompagner le client à identifier ses valeurs, ses intérêts et ses forces ainsi qu’à mettre en place des activités et objectifs réaliste pour acquérir différentes stratégies et reprendre l’activité au fur et à mesure.

Services spécifiques

Accommodation en milieu de travail:

Une intervention en milieu de travail ayant comme objectif de diminuer le risque de blessure ou de récidive et d’offrir des stratégies ponctuelles au client pour faciliter le retour et/ou le maintien au travail. Il s’agit d’un service souvent utilisé pour faire l’enseignement de techniques posturales/biomécaniques sécuritaires, fournir des stratégies cognitives ou offrir un support et encadrement auprès d’un client qui réintègre le travail après une longue absence ou afin de réduire les risques une absence.

Programme de retour au travail:

Un programme individualisé et structuré ayant pour objectif de favoriser une réintégration progressive du client dans son milieu de travail, suite à une blessure, une condition ou une maladie. Un tel programme peut inclure l’adaptation des tâches, enseignements de techniques posturales et/ou de l’horaire de travail et/ou des équipements. L’ergothérapeute assure un suivi et encadrement tout au long du processus de réintégration.

Réadaptation en ergothérapie pour la gestion de la douleur persistante et autres conditions chroniques (condition invisible):

Conçu pour le client qui n’arrive pas à autogérer la douleur persistante résultant d’une atteinte physique et qui ont de la difficulté à faire les activités qui donne un sens à leur vie. L’ergothérapeute accompagne le client à développer des stratégies pour mieux gérer leur temps et leur énergie, meilleur sommeil, réduire l’impact des stress, fatigue et douleur, mettre en place de nouvelles habitudes, améliorer votre capacité de vous organiser dans vos journées et bâtir des connexions pour réduire l’isolation.

 

Analyse ergonomique et adaptation d’un poste de travail:

 

Une évaluation dans le milieu de travail du client dans le but d’identifier les facteurs de risque reliés aux méthodes de travail ainsi qu’aux divers éléments d’un poste incluant les outils, les équipements, les tâches, l’organisation, la technologie et l’environnement. L’ergothérapeute peut par la suite proposer des stratégies de modification de la tâche et recommander des adaptations ainsi que des équipements spécialisés selon le besoin.

Évaluation de l’autonomie fonctionnelle et sécurité à domicile:

L’ergothérapeute se rend à domicile pour évaluer le fonctionnement au quotidien de leur client dans la réalisation de leurs occupations significatives. A l’aide d’entrevue, mise en situation et observations, l’ergothérapeute analyse les difficultés occupationnel (e.g. : sécurité à, difficultés à réalisation des transferts au bain/toilettes, façon de s’y prendre pour organiser sa tâche de préparation de repas, etc.) et les barrières environnementales qui y sont reliée. Celle-ci offrira par la suite des recommandations comme des aides techniques et/ou stratégie pour améliorer le fonctionnement et la sécurité lors de la participation aux activités significatives.

©2018 BY MIND AT PEACE CENTRE / CENTRE MIEUX-ÊTRE

Téléphone : 1 (506) 252-2976

Téléc : 1 (506) 546-8594

  • Facebook
  • Instagram