Autism Spectrum Specialization

Diagnostic Evaluation

The diagnostic evaluation service aims at confirming or ruling out the presence of an Autism Spectrum Disorder in children and adults. As recommended by best practices, the assessment process is carried out by an interdisciplinary team, a psychologist and a speech and language therapist.


This service includes the assessment of the intellectual, social, behavioral, and emotional profile of the child, adolescent or adult. It includes a clinical interview as well as the administration of several psychometric tests, including the ADOS-II includes consultation of previous evaluations as well as the observations of professionals who have worked with the child or adult.

Child and family specific autism counseling

The Mind at Peace Center offers a psychosocial and therapeutic counseling service to support the individual following the diagnosis of an Autism Spectrum Disorder, to offer psychoeducation and offer a specialized approach (SACCADE) towards better individual and family wellbeing. Recommendations and referrals to other services can be made when necessary (private, public and community sector). 
 
SACCADE is based on scientific research on the neurodevelopmental approach specialized with the Autism Spectrum Disorder. The approach uses cognitive strategies focused on the internal functions and needs of the person with autism. The purpose of using these strategies is to help people diagnosed with the autism spectrum disorder to gain access to more information, receive a better understanding, communication, and expression of their emotions. The approach also helps them improve their understanding of their needs and support them achieve their goals.

Support and accompaniment service

The support and accompaniment service are offered by the psychosocial worker at home to provide support and follow-up using the same approaches seen in therapy. This service aims at helping the person on the autism spectrum and the family to obtain support in the process of adaptation and will guide them in applying the techniques and approaches seen in therapy.

Relief care

The mission is to provide relief and support services to families with a child on the Autism Spectrum Disorder by providing relief at home by the Psychosocial Interventionist from Mind at Peace Center. This service will allow parents to take time for themselves knowing that their child is in good hands while they are away.

First appointment (Parents/guardians only)

During the first session, the Interventionist will meet with the parents to complete the forms, discuss the child’s specific needs and their expectations of the services. Next, the worker will develop a service plan to ensure that the needs of the family/child are compatible with the service offered.

Second appointment

Once the plan is accepted, the Interventionist will come to the home to meet the child to create a bond. The first session will be one hour long with the mandatory parents presence. This session can be repeated as needed and requested until it is judged that the child can be left alone with the interventionist. 
 
Once the parents and the child are comfortable with the Psychosocial Interventionist and vice versa, the relief care service can begin. 
 
Services can be offered either during the day, a few evenings and sometimes on weekends.

©2018 BY MIND AT PEACE CENTRE / CENTRE MIEUX-ÊTRE

Telephone : 1 (506) 252-2976

Fax : 1 (506) 546-8594

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Spécialisation du spectre de l’autisme

Évaluation diagnostique

Le service d’évaluation diagnostique permet de confirmer ou d’infirmer la présence d’un trouble du spectre de l’autisme chez les enfants et adultes. Tel que recommandé dans les meilleures pratiques, le processus d’évaluation est fait de façon interdisciplinaire, soit par une psychologue et une orthophoniste.


Ce service comprend l’évaluation du profil intellectuel, social, comportemental et affectif de l’enfant, l’adolescent ou l’adulte. Ceci comprend une entrevue clinique ainsi que l’administration de plusieurs tests psychométriques, dont l’ADOS-2. Le processus d’évaluation inclut aussi la consultation des évaluations antérieures ainsi que les observations des professionnels ayant côtoyé l’enfant ou l’adulte.

Counseling spécifique à l’autisme pour l’enfant et la famille

Le Centre Mieux-Être offre un service d’aide psychosociale et thérapeutique pour soutenir la personne desservie et sa famille face au diagnostic, leur offrir de la psychoéducation et de l’accompagnement avec une approche spécialisée (SACCADE) vers un meilleur mieux-être individuel et familial. Une recommandation ou référence vers d’autres services peut être fait, mais seulement lorsque nécessaire (secteur privé, public et communautaire). 
 
SACCADE est une approche neurodéveloppementale, spécialisée au niveau du spectre de l'autisme qui est basée sur des recherches scientifiques. L’approche utilise des stratégies cognitives orientées sur les fonctions internes et les besoins de la personne atteinte de l’autisme. L’utilisation de ces stratégies a pour but d’aider les personnes atteintes du spectre de l’autisme à avoir accès à plus d’information et une meilleurs compréhension, communication et expression de leur émotions. L’approche aide par le fait même à mieux comprendre leurs besoins et mieux les aider dans l’atteinte de leurs objectifs.

Service de soutien et d’accompagnement

Le service de soutien et d’accompagnement est offert par l’intervenante psychosociale au domicile afin d’offrir un soutien et suivi en utilisant les mêmes approches vues en thérapie. Ceci permet d’aider la personne atteinte du spectre de l’autisme et la famille d’obtenir un soutien dans ce processus de changement et de les guider dans l’application des techniques et approches expliquées en thérapie.

Service de relève

La mission est d’offrir un service de relève et de support aux familles ayant un enfant présentant un trouble du spectre de l’autisme en offrant un service de relève à la maison par l’intervenante psychosociale du Centre Mieux-Être. Ce service permettra à la famille de prendre du temps pour elle tout en sachant que leur enfant est entre bonne main pendant leur absence.

Première rencontre (seulement parents ou tuteurs)

Pendant la première session, l’intervenante rencontrera les parents afin de remplir les formulaires, de discuter des besoins spécifiques de l’enfant et de leurs attentes du service. À la suite, l’intervenante développera un plan de service pour s’assurer que les besoins de la famille et ceux des services offerts soient compatibles.

Deuxième rencontre

Une fois le plan accepté, l’intervenante psychosociale se déplacera au domicile afin de rencontrer l’enfant dans le but de créer les premiers liens. La première rencontre sera d’une durée d’une heure avec les parents présents en tout temps. Cette rencontre peut être répétée selon les besoins et la demande.


Une fois que les parents, l’enfant soient confortable avec l’intervenante et vice-versa, le service de relève peut débuter. 


Les services peuvent être offerts soient le jour, quelques soirs et parfois les fins de semaines.

©2018 BY MIND AT PEACE CENTRE / CENTRE MIEUX-ÊTRE

Téléphone : 1 (506) 252-2976

Téléc : 1 (506) 546-8594

  • Facebook
  • Instagram