Equitherapy specialization

Intro

  The HEAL™ model uses a set of principles for understanding and managing emotions in ourselves and others, which we call the “Six Keys to Relationships”.

 

  The horse is the medium of this type of therapy with a therapist and an equine specialist. This approach is founded on ground training only. The idea behind the HEAL keys is that we cannot control the emotional state of the horse; but we can influence the emotion and behavior of the horse in positive directions by consciously managing our own arousal, thought processes and responses (i.e. through careful and educated use of the Keys).

equitherapie39.jpeg

   Anyone can benefit from equine therapy sessions, regardless of their age, because the treatments are individualized. Also, improved self-esteem, assimilation of cognitive and emotional functions, communication and, more realistic situation assessment, etc. can be noted during therapy treatment. Basically, the horse does not recognize labels or diagnoses, it accepts the person as they are at the time of the session. In addition, the H.E.AL. program is adapted to different age groups, to family or relational therapy, and this, to the level of physical/emotional capacity of the person and it is an approach that is adapted for people who have lived through traumas. Educational sessions can also be offered.

stables.png

EquiZen Stables

 

Claude and Géralda are the proud owners of the Équizen stables. They heard about the Mind at Peace Center’s project and mission and wanted to take part in helping the community feel better through horses.  For them, being able to share their passion and love for horses while helping the community is an honor and a great source of pride. Their big hearts mean that you might see them around the stables taking care of their facility and the horses when you come for a visit.

Geralda and Claude are the very important people who keep the horses fit, fed, healthy and ready to see you. They give our horses lots of love and attention and make sure the yard is clean and tidy. They try to stay away when clients visit us, but you can be sure they will be busy behind the scenes.

equitherapie38.jpeg

Equine lessons

   The Mind at Peace Center also offers ground based equine lessons of western style. These lessons are private and one-on-one. Contact the Center for more information.

equitherapie50.jpeg
equitherapie23.jpeg
 

Team

equitherapie1.jpeg

Marie-Pierre Godin

Clinical social worker

Marie-Pierre Godin holds a Bachelor's Degree with distinction and a Master's degree in Social work from the Université de Moncton. Since her childhood, she has been passionate about improving the lives of others. She has over 15 years of experience as a registered social worker with children, families, in school settings as well as indigenous peoples in Northern Canada.  During her studies, she did internships in different organizations, and internationally, which gave her a solid foundation in social work and an openness to the world and its various cultures. She was supervised for three years by experts in sexual abuse, family and couple therapy. Following her post-secondary studies, she held several positions focusing on children and their families in various settings, before taking up a management position as clinical coordinator for youth services for the Vitalité network in the Chaleur region.  

Marie-Pierre specializes in child-teen counseling, sexual assault, couple, family, adoption and children in care. She is an expert in intervention with families living with complex needs, including attachment and trauma. She does not hesitate to give back to her community by being a teacher, supervisor, coordinator or by offering various presentations and workshops for various universities or organizations. She takes annual training to stay abreast of trends in her field.  Marie-Pierre has taken courses to specialize in equine therapy since 2020. 
 
Mother of two adopted children with special needs, bilingual, she stands out for her professionalism, leadership and perseverance. Marie-Pierre has worked in the private field since 2007 and owned her private practice since 2014. Since 2018, she has been a social worker and co-owner of the Mind at Peace Center.

dahlia.jpg

Dahlia Dempsey

Equine specialist

 

Dahlia is all horses, she sleeps, dreams, and breathes horses. She has been around horses since she was 7 years old and there is nothing that she loves more than to share her love for them with you! Guess who was her valentine this year?? You guessed right if you thought of her horse, Gypsy is her one and only prince charming and together they make an unbeatable team. That being said, Dahlia works with any horse and assists many in the region with training their horses. That’s why Dahlia was the perfect choice for being our equine specialist. She is soft spoken, with nerves of steel and you will see her during sessions ensuring that everyone’s safety (including the horses!). Dahlia is part of the therapy sessions as her role is primordial in making the therapy process a success with the therapist. Dahlia aspires to do her Western courses during the summer of 2022 to enhance her capacities as a team member.

equitherapie40.jpeg

Spécialisation en équithérapie

Introduction

 

   Le modèle HEAL™ utilise un ensemble de principes pour comprendre et gérer les émotions en nous-mêmes et chez les autres, que nous appelons « Six clés de la relation ».

   En utilisant cette approche, le cheval est le moyen de la thérapie en tant que médiateur avec la thérapeute et la spécialiste équine, en faisant de l’entraînement au sol. À proprement parler, nous ne pouvons pas contrôler l'état émotionnel du cheval; mais nous pouvons influencer l'émotion et le comportement du cheval dans des directions positives en gérant consciencieusement notre propre excitation, nos processus de pensée et nos réponses (c'est-à-dire par une utilisation prudente et éduquée des Clés).

equitherapie39.jpeg

   Toute personne peut bénéficier de séances d’équithérapie et ce quel que soit l’âge, car les traitements sont individualisés. Une meilleure estime de soi, une meilleure assimilation des fonctions cognitives et émotionnelles, une meilleure communication, une évaluation de situation plus réaliste, etc. Dans le fond, le cheval ne reconnaît pas les étiquettes ni les diagnostiques, celui-ci accepte la personne telle qu’elle est dans le moment de la session. De plus, le modèle H.E.AL. est adapté  à différents groupes d'âge, à la thérapie familiale ou relationnelle, au niveau de capacité physiques de la personne et c’est une approche qui est adaptée pour des gens ayants vécu des. Des sessions de nature éducationnelles peuvent aussi être offertes.

stables.png

Écurie EquiZen

 

    L'Écurie Équizen a reçu son nom des propriétaires Claude et Géralda en recevant de l'aide de l'équipe du Centre Mieux-Être en raison de leur vision et désir de vouloir aider les gens. Pour eux, pouvoir partager leurs passions des chevaux et aider leur communauté au travers leur écurie est un honneur et une fierté. C'est pour cette raison qu'une collaboration a été créée entre leur écurie et le Centre Mieux-Être. Leur grands cœurs signifient qu'ils offrent leurs installations d'écuries afin que les gens puissent bénéficier de services thérapeutiques équine dans la Communauté Chaleur.

    Géralda et Claude sont les personnes très importantes qui gardent nos chevaux en forme et en bonne santé et prêts à vous voir. Ils donnent à nos chevaux beaucoup d'amour et d'attention et s'assurent que la cour est propre et bien rangée. Ils essaient de rester à l'écart lorsque les clients nous rendent visite, mais vous pouvez être sûr qu'ils seront occupés dans les coulisses.
 

equitherapie38.jpeg

Cours équine

   Le Centre Mieux-Être offre aussi des cours équine de nature western au sol. Ces cours sont privés et un à un. Contactez le Centre pour plus d'informations.

equitherapie50.jpeg
equitherapie23.jpeg
 

Équipe

equitherapie1.jpeg

Marie-Pierre

Travailleuse sociale clinique

Marie-Pierre Godin possède un baccalauréat avec distinction et une maîtrise en travail social de l’Université de Moncton. Depuis son enfance, elle est passionnée à améliorer la vie des autres. Elle possède plus de 15 ans d’expérience en tant que travailleuse sociale enregistrée. Pendant ses études, elle a effectué des stages dans différentes organisations, et même à l’international, et occuper des postes avec les communautés de premières nations dans le nord du Canada, qui lui ont donné une base solide en travail social et une ouverture sur le monde et ses diverses cultures.  Elle a été supervisée pendant trois ans par des experts en abus sexuel, en thérapie familiale et de couple et occupé des postes dans les écoles, en santé mentale, pour ensuite occuper un poste de gestion en tant que coordonnatrice clinique des services pour la jeunesse du réseau Vitalité dans la région Chaleur.  
 
Marie-Pierre se spécialise dans le counseling enfant-ado, agressions sexuelles, couple, familiale, adoption et enfants sous soin.  Elle est une experte en intervention avec des familles vivant des difficultés multiples.  Elle n’hésite pas à redonner à sa communauté en étant enseignante, superviseur ou à offrir différentes présentations et ateliers pour diverses universités ou organismes.  Elle suit annuellement des formations pour demeurer à l'affût des tendances en travail social :  Tout particulièrement, Marie-Pierre a entrepris des cours pour se spécialiser en thérapie équine depuis 2020. 
 
Mère adoptive de deux enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux, bilingue, elle se distingue par son professionnalisme, son leadership et sa persévérance. Marie-Pierre est propriétaire de sa pratique privée depuis 2014.  Depuis 2018, elle est travailleuse sociale et co-propriétaire du Centre mieux-être.

dahlia.jpg

Dahlia Dempsey

Spécialiste équine

Dahlia ne vit que pour les chevaux, elle dort, rêve et s’inspire d’eux. Elle les côtoie depuis l'âge de 7 ans et il n'y a rien qu'elle aime plus que de partager son amour pour eux avec vous ! Devinez qui était son valentin cette année ?? Vous avez bien deviné si vous pensiez à son cheval, Gypsy, celui-ci est son seul et unique prince charmant et ensemble, ils forment une équipe formidable. Cela étant dit, Dahlia travaille avec n'importe quel cheval et aide de nombreux propriétaires de la région à entraîner leurs chevaux. C'est pourquoi Dahlia était le choix idéal pour être notre spécialiste équine. Elle a la voix douce, des nerfs d'acier et vous la verrez lors des séances veillant à la sécurité de tous (y compris les chevaux !). Dahlia fait partie des séances de thérapie car son rôle est primordial pour la réussite du processus thérapeutique avec la thérapeute clinique. Dahlia aspire à faire ses cours Western durant l'été 2022 pour améliorer ses capacités et connaissances en tant que membre active de l'équipe.

equitherapie40.jpeg